Oh Mandy, The Spinto Band

March 13, 2008 at 5:52 pm 3 comments

One of the best bands I saw in Austin this last week was “The Spinto Band“. I downloaded their last CD, and immediately fell in love with the song “Oh Mandy”, and appararently I am not the only one, as views of the video for “Oh Mandy” on YouTube are huge:

It really makes me wonder how the internet is treating new bands. Basically, here is someone I have never heard of that has 448,473 views on their video and lots of link love (do a Google search for “spinto”). I wonder how hard it is to monetize their music, and how “deals with labels” are different than the old days.

Spinto’s label is Bar None, and bar none includes youtube videos, myspace links, etc. of artist’s content. Hmmmm? I wonder if labels are doing search and social media placement as part of marketing for artists?
Also, who produced the video for “Oh Mandy”? It is pretty fun. Nice stats on viewership too.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Collective Intelligence and Meetings Hook Up to Houston Children’s Museum

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Eloy Zuniga Jr.  |  March 17, 2008 at 4:17 pm

    I love the song. I’ve jammed out to it too many times last week and still going strong. Yes, it is very funny to me that I fell in love with this song without knowing that it was popular. I’m generic, yey!

    Reply
  • 2. Eloy Zuniga Jr.  |  March 17, 2008 at 4:19 pm

    One more thing. The entire album (Nice and Nicely done) rocks. Not one bad song. Works well with long projects (such as programming).

    Reply
  • 3. Jose  |  October 2, 2008 at 4:00 pm

    i will always like this song because it is kool!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Aug »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Recent Posts

Feeds

Bloglines

Here is a link to my public bloglines account: bloglines for longstation

